COMMISSION 36

THEORY OF STELLAR ATMOSPHERES

THÉORIE DES ATMOSPHÈRES STELLAIRES

PRESIDENT VICE-PRESIDENT ORGANIZING COMMITTEE Monique Spite John D. Landstreet Martin Asplund, Thomas R. Ayres, Suchitra C. Balachandran, Dainis Dravins, Peter H. Hauschildt, Dan Kiselman, K. N. Nagendra, Christopher Sneden, Grazina Tautvaišiené, Klaus Werner

PROCEEDINGS BUSINESS MEETING on 16 August 2006

1. Introduction

The business meeting of Commission 36 was held during the General Assembly in Prague on 16 August. It was attended by about 15 members. The issues presented included a review of the work made by members of Commission 36, and the election of the new Organising Committee. We note that a comprehensive report on the activities of the commission during the last triennium has been published in Reports on Astronomy, Transactions IAU Volume XXVIA. The scientific activity of the members of the commission has been very intense, and has led to the publication of a large number of papers.

2. Activities

The Commission 36 Organising Committee evaluated and recommended several proposals for IAU meetings during the last triennium. It is pleased that qualified programs of stellar physics could be offered at the 2006 Prague General Assembly.

3. Membership

There are now more than 300 members of the Commission 36: 142 from Western Europe, 113 from North America, 33 from Asia Pacific, 20 from Eastern Europe and 9 from South America. Europe provides an important fraction of members, and this number will even increase in the future, since among the 33 new IAU members who have chosen Commission 36 as their primary Commission, 25 are European and only one is from North America.

4. Elections

In order to enhance the participation of members in commission matters and to have in the OC only members really interested in participating to the work of the Commission, we sent an e-mail to all the members of the Commission asking them if they would be interested in being members of the future OC. They were 15 candidates; from these candidates, 5 were elected by the OC of Commission 36. The newly elected OC members are: Svetlana V. Berdyugina

THEORY OF STELLAR ATMOSPHERES

Then the 12 OC members and the five new members have elected the new vice-president, Martin Asplund. The previous elected vice-president, John Landstreet, becomes president of the OC. The composition of the OC for the next triennium is: John D. Landstreet (president, Canada), Martin Asplund (vice-president, Australia). Members: Suchitra C. Balachandran (USA), Svetlana V. Berdyugina (Switzerland), Peter H. Hauschildt (Germany), Hans G. Ludwig (France), Lyudmila I. Mashonkina (Russian Federation), K.N. Nagendra (India), Joachim Puls (Germany), Sofia Randich (Italia), Monique Spite (past president, France), and Grazina Tautvaišiené, (Lithuania).

5. Possibility of merging Commissions 29 and 36?

During the meeting in Prague the possibility of merging Commissions 29 and 36 was discussed. It had been noted previously that there is an important overlap in interests of these commissions: Commission 36 representing mainly the theoretical side of the "stellar atmospheres" and Commission 29 the observational side.

A merger of these commissions could improve the discussion and organisation of symposia. However there were diverse views among the members of the Commission and in particular, there was concern that the point of view of the theoreticians could be diluted. Moreover since only 20% of the members of the commission 36 also belong to Commission 29, the resulting Commission would be "huge" (more than 500 members). Finally it was decided to continue to explore this possibility, and to have further discussion at the next General Assembly in Rio de Janeiro. Such discussion should reasonably be preceded by a concrete proposal, and will depend on the policies of the IAU, particularly as they concern large Commissions.

6. Conclusion

The outgoing president thanked the outgoing OC and welcomed John Landstreet as the new president of the Commission 36 for the next triennium.

Monique Spite president of the Commission