## Editors' Notes

## FIFTY-FIGHTH ANNUAL E.H.A. MEETING

The 1998 Annual Meeting of the Economic History Association will be held at the Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club, Durham, North Carolina, 25–27 September 1998. The theme of the program is "Revolutions in Economic History." The theme refers to historical cases in which economic structures of long standing and apparent stability either disintegrate or are overturned by something new. "Revolutions" may include the famous upheavals of political and economic history (for example, French, Russian, Industrial), but also sociopolitical transformations such as the Civil Rights Revolution in the United States, discontinuous changes in the norms of labor relations or family life, etc. Conventional economics has little to say about these phenomena, but history should have plenty to say.

Members of the program committee are John Brown (Chair), David Carlton, Jane Humphries, and Warren Whatley. The committee especially encourages proposals for papers and sessions that help promote intellectual conversations among scholars who may assess revolutions in economic history from differing analytical or disciplinary perspectives.

To submit a proposal for a paper, send a short abstract (150 words) and a longer 3-5 page abstract to John Brown postmarked by 30 January 1998. Proposals may also be submitted by using the form available from the E.H.A. Web Site at

http://www.eh.net/EHA/Announcements/EHA sub prop 98.html.

If a draft of the paper is available, please send it in addition to the abstracts. The committee welcomes proposals for entire sessions as well as for individual papers. Proposals for sessions should include abstracts for each paper in the session. The committee does reserve the right to assign papers to sessions and to accept some papers from a proposed session if the entire session is not accepted. For full consideration, proposals must be received by 30 January 1998. Submissions must include the full name, mailing address, telephone number(s), fax number, and E-mail address of all authors. Notices of acceptance will be sent to the individual paper givers by 30 March 1998.

Those interested in being considered for the 1998 E.H.A. program are welcome to enter into conversations (E-mail encouraged) with any of the members of the Program Committee:

John Brown (Chair)
Department of Economics
Clark University
Worcester, MA 01610-1477
(508)793-7390 Fax: (508)855-3736
jbrown@vax.clarku.edu

Jane Humphries
Cambridge University
Department of Economics
Cambridge, England
CB3 9DD
(01223)335222 Fax: 01223-335475
jane.humphries@econ.cam.ac.uk

David L. Carlton
Department of History
Vanderbilt University
P.O. Box 1523, Station B
Nashville, TN 37235
(615)332-3326 Fax: (615)343-6002
david.l.carlton@vanderbilt.edu

Warren C. Whatley
Department of Economics
The University of Michigan
215 Lorch Hall
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
(313) 764-5256 Fax: (313) 764-2769
wwhatley@umich.edu

Those expecting to receive their Ph.D. during the academic year 1997/98 are invited to apply for inclusion in the dissertation session at the 1998 E.H.A meetings. Dissertations on U.S. or Canadian history chosen for presentation at the meetings will be finalists for the Allan Nevins Prize. Such dissertations should be sent to Leonard Carlson, Emory University, Department of Economics, Atlanta, GA 30322; e-mail: econlac@emory.edu. Dissertations on areas of the world other than the U.S. or Canada will be finalists for the Alexander Gerschenkron Prize. Such dissertations should be sent to Lynn Hollen Lees, University of Pennsylvania, Department of History, College Hall, Philadelphia, PA 19104; e-mail: LHLees@sas.upenn.edu. Applicants must send a copy of their dissertation to the appropriate convener so that it reaches him or her by Friday, 29 May 1998.

## AWARDS AT THE 1997 E.H.A. MEETING

The following prizes were awarded at the fifty-seventh annual meeting of the Economic History Association, held in New Brunswick, New Jersey, from 12 to 14 September 1997.

The Arthur H. Cole Prize for the outstanding article published in this JOURNAL in the September 1996 through June 1997 issues, to Price V. Fishback of the University of Arizona and Shawn Everett Kantor of the University of Arizona for their article "The Durable Experiment: State Insurance of Workers' Compensation Risk in the Early Twentieth Century," which appeared in the December 1996 issue. The Cole Prize recipient is selected each year by this JOURNAL's editorial board.

The Allen Nevins Prize for the outstanding dissertation in U.S. or Canadian economic history during 1995/96, to Mark V. Siegler, Williams College, for his "Real Output and Business Cycle Volatility, 1869–1993: U.S. Experience in International Perspective," completed under the direction of Peter Lindert at the University of California, Davis.

The Alexander Gerschenkron Prize for the outstanding dissertation in non-U.S. or Canadian history during 1995/96 to Timothy Leunig, Nuffield College, Oxford University, for his "The Myth of the Corporate Economy: Factor Cost, Industrial Structure and Technological Choice in the Lancashire and New England Cotton Industries, 1900–1913," completed under the direction of James Foreman-Peck at Oxford University.

The Jonathan Hughes Prize for 1996 for excellence in teaching economic history, to Martha Olney of the University of California, Berkeley.

In addition, the following scholars were awarded Arthur H. Cole Grants-In-Aid: Kyle Kauffman, Wellesley College, for research on racial differences in early twentieth-century U.S. agriculture; Suzanne Sommers, Texas A&M University, for research on the merchant community in Texas, 1836–1880; William Summerhill, UCLA, for research on foreign capital, public policy, and railroads in Argentina; and Anne Hanley, Northwestern University, for research on capital markets in the coffee economy of Brazil, 1850–1905.

## NOMINATIONS FOR JONATHAN HUGHES TEACHING PRIZE

The Committee on Teaching of the Economic History Association invites nominations for the fifth annual Jonathan Hughes Prize for Excellence in Teaching Economic History. Letters of nomination should state what qualities of excellence the candidate's teaching of economic history has embodied. The strength of the nominating letter will be the primary basis for selecting the pool of finalists for the prize. After arriving at a short list of finalists, the committee will gather further supporting information. Anyone is eligible to write a letter of nomination. Letters of nomination should be received by 15 March 15 1998, and should be sent to: Sally Clarke, Department of History, University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX 78712 (email: sclarke@mail.utexas.edu).