# DIVISION II COMMISSION 49

# INTERPLANETARY PLASMA AND THE HELIOSPHERE

PLASMA INTERPLANETAIRE ET HELIOSPHERE

PRESIDENT VICE-PRESIDENT PAST PRESIDENT ORGANIZING COMMITTEE Natchimuthuk Gopalswamy Ingrid Mann Jean-Louis Bougeret Carine Briand, Rosine Lallement, David Lario, P. K. Manoharan, Kazunari Shibata, David F. Webb

#### PROCEEDINGS BUSINESS SESSION, 23 August 2012

The President of IAU Commission 49 (C49; Interplanetary Plasma and the Heliosphere), Nat Gopalswamy, chaired the business meeting of C10, which took place on August 23, 2012 in the venue of the IAU General Assembly in Beijing (2:00 - 3:30 PM, Room 405).

#### 1. Business Meeting Agenda

1. President's remarks, 2. New organizing committee, 3. Working groups related to commission 49, 4. Interaction with other organizations, 5. Outreach activities, and 6. New organizational structure.

The meeting started with a moment of silence to those commission members deceased during the past triennium. The following names were known to the IAU: Donald Blackwell (1921–2011), John Dyson (1941–2010), Evry Schatzman(1919–2010), Charles P. "Chuck" Sonett (1924–2011).

The president summarized the activities of C49 over the triennium and the election of the incoming OC.

### 2. IAU meeting proposals

The OC has solicited, reviewed and endorsed IAU Symposium, Special Session, and Joint Discussion proposals, offered advice to the proposers.

#### 3. Triennial Report

The Triennial Report of C49 was published in Transactions IAU, T28A (Gopalswamy *et al.*, 2012), and is available on the Astrophysical Data System:

http: //adsabs.harvard.edu/abs/2012IAUTA..28...95G. The president expressed special thanks to the OC for producing the 30-page report. In addition, he thanked John

112

D. Richardson (MIT, USA) for contributing to the outer heliosphere section. The report was 30-pages long, which reflects the increased activity on the topics the commission is interested in. The report also demonstrates that Commission 49 is a vital component of Division II and will continue to add new knowledge.

## 4. Membership

C49 has 196 members from 23 countries and territories. The current list can be found in  $http: //www.iau.org/science/scientific_bodies/commissions/49/members/.$ 

## 5. Outgoing OC

President Nat Gopalswamy (USA)

Vice-President: Ingrid Mann (Sweden)

Past President Jean-Louise Bougeret (France)

Board: Carine Briand (France), Rosine Lallement (France), David Lario (USA), P. K. Manoharan (India), Kazunari Shibata (Japan), David F. Webb (USA).

The president thanked the members of the outgoing OC for their service.

### 6. Incoming OC for 2012-2015

Following tradition, the outgoing President drafted the new OC list and circulated among the current OC. After discussion and modifications, the list was circulated among the C49 members. There were no additional comments received from the C49 membership. The list of new OC members was presented to the Business meeting. As per tradition, the Vice President became the President. The new OC of C49 is as follows:

President: Ingrid Mann (Sweden)

Vice-President: P. K. Manoharan (India)

Past President: Nat Gopalswamy (USA)

*Board:* Carine Briand (France), Igor Chashei (Russia), Sarah Gibson (USA), Yoichiro Hanaoka (Japan), David Lario (USA), Olga Malandraki (Greece)

The geographical distribution of the OC remained even, and the female-to-male ration increased from 30% to 44% in the new OC. The president also informed that the commission has been traditionally recommending the appointment of the Bureau member from IAU to the Scientific Committee on Solar Terrestrial Physics (SCOSTEP). After the current Bureau member Nat Gopalswamy was elected as President of SCOSTEP, Mei Zhang has been recommended as the new Bureau member via consensus.

The new President was invited to address the business meeting. She suggested that the following are the goals for the coming 3 years: (i) reflect on the role of the commission and make close connection to other commissions within the Division, (ii)the unique point of the commission 49 is the connection of space science and astronomy and this should be promoted, (iii) consider studying microphysical phenomena in the interplanetary medium, and (iv) keep and strengthen the liaison to the space weather community that was built up by the outgoing President.

## 7. Outreach Activities

The president summarized the outreach activities performed via SCOSTEP and ISWI in the form of international schools and comic books relevant to C49. O. Malandraki and

C. Briand provided information on the general planning of public outreach activities., i.e. what one should have in mind while preparing and performing a presentation/talk on public outreach. The key elements are:

(1) Explain your work within the frame of the challenge of solving a problem (which is the basis of your research).

(2) Know your audience, i.e. use the appropriate language and knowledge level.

(3) Be prepared to answer all kinds of questions (especially if this talk/presentation is given to the general public) so that the interest of the audience can be sustained.

The outreach strategy needs to be divided and expressed according to the audience: For public audience (school students, amateur scientists, participants of open science days), presentations, internet updates, and other communications.

For focused audience (audience of university lectures, scientists/colleagues and conferences/meetings) IAU meetings and proceedings are the best options.

Natchimuthuk Gopalswamy President of the Commission

### References

Gopalswamy, N., Mann, I., Bougeret, J.-L.,Briand,C., Lallement, R., Lario, D., Manoharan, P. K., Shibata, K., Webb, D. F. 2012 Commission 49: Interplanetary Plasma and Heliosphere, Transactions of the International Astronomical Union, Series A, 28, 95-124.