## European Constitutional Law Review

2024 VOLUME 20 ISSUE 4

Contributions by

Christian Waldhoff, Lorin-Johannes Wagner, Franco Peirone, Harriet Ní Chinnéide, Darren Harvey, Pablo Cruz Mantilla de los Ríos, Elke Cloots & Jogchum Vrielink, Pau Bossacoma Busquets

## Subjects

EUROPEAN CONSTITUTIONAL IDENTITY: carving out an unamendable core of the EU treaties; NATIONALITY AND IMMIGRATION: judgments on third-country parents of Union citizens, and on the genuine link criterion; Freedom of Religion: the ECJ on wearing religious signs in a public workplace, and the Strasbourg court on ritual slaughter; Lex MITIOR: retroactive application of more favourable law and EU-law obligations in *Lin*; State Finance: the Bundesverfassungsgericht on the constitutional debt break; Book Review: an essay on recent books about federalism and the European Union by Signe Rehling Larsen, Stephen Tierney and Hèctor López Bofill

le Menzehen warden Brilds



EuConst 2024/4

## BOARD OF EDITORS

Leonard F.M. Besselink, co-editor-in-chief

University of Amsterdam

Monica Claes, co-editor-in-chief

Maastricht University

Jan-Herman Reestman, co-editor-in-chief

University of Amsterdam

W.T. Eijsbouts

University of Amsterdam

John W. Sap

Open Universiteit and VU Amsterdam

Thomas Beukers

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, The Hague

Jan Komárek

University of Copenhagen

Gerhard van der Schyff

University of Tilburg

Mattias Wendel

Universität Leipzig

Aida Torres Pérez

Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona

François-Xavier Millet

Université des Antilles, France

Thomas A.J.A. Vandamme University of Amsterdam

Matteo Bonelli Maastricht University

Nik de Boer

University of Amsterdam

Silvia Suteu

European University Institute, Florence

Cristina Fasone LUISS, Rome David Kosař

Masaryk University, Brno

Urška Šadl

University of Copenhagen

Bastian Michel, managing editor

University of Amsterdam

## BOARD OF ADVISERS

Marta Cartabia

Professor of constitutional law, Bocconi University,

Milan

Paul Craig

Emeritus Professor of English law, St. John's College,

Oxford

Gráinne de Búrca

Professor European University Institute, Florence

Bruno De Witte

Professor emeritus of European Union law,

Maastricht University

Spyridon Flogaitis

Professor of administrative law, University of Athens

Jörg Gerkrath

Professor emeritus, University of Luxembourg

P.J.G. Kapteyn

Former judge at the Court of Justice

Rick Lawson

Professor of European law, Leiden University

Koen Lenaerts

President of the Court of Justice and Professor of

European law, KU Leuven

Ingolf Pernice

Emeritus Professor of public law and of international and European law, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Sacha Prechal

Professor of European law, Utrecht University

Dominique Rousseau

Professor emeritus, Université Paris I

Panthéon-Sorbonne

Wojciech Sadurski

Professor in jurisprudence, University of Sydney and professor extraordinarius, University of Warsaw

András Sajó

University Professor Central European University,

Budapest

Mirosław Wyrzykowski

Professor emeritus of constitutional law, University

of Warsaw

Peter G. Xuereb

Professor of European and comparative law,

University of Malta

Jiří Zemánek

The Czech Constitutional Court