DIVISION XI / WG PARTICLE ASTROPHYSICS

CHAIR MEMBERS Reinhard Schlickeiser Roger D. Blandford, Alain Brillet, Masa-Katsu Fujimoto, Piero Madau, Angela V. Olinto, Marco Salvati, Bernard F. Schutz, Peter F. Smith, Michel Spiro, Arnold A. Stepanyan, Yoji Totsuka, Sylvaine Turck-Chieze, Heinrich J. Voelk

PROCEEDINGS BUSINESS MEETING on 25 August 2006

1. Introduction

The business meeting of the Division XI Working Group on *Particle Astrophysics* took place in the morning of 25 August 2006, and was attended by 14 participants.

From the five planned talks three (by Blandford, Ellison, Waxman) were withdrawn on rather short notice; in two cases (Ellison, Waxman) the invited speakers refused to come after finding out about the huge registration fee of this IAU General Assembly.

One additional talk by Dr. Spiering was withdrawn on very short notice because of illness of the speaker. Two graduate students from the ICECUBE experiments (M. Duvoort and T. Castermans), who were present in Prague, substituted Dr. Spiering.

So the only invited talk, that took place as planned, was the talk by Dr. Paula Chadwick about new results from TeV γ -ray astronomy.

2. Conclusions

As a consequence of this disastrous meeting, I informed Dr. Hasinger, the new president of Division XI, that I will resign as Working Group chairman. It seems to me after this experience that most particle astrophysicist do not recognize the IAU (and their meetings) as an important agency for the advancement of their field.

In the preparation of this meeting and during the meeting I had no support from any of the members of the Working Group despite several e-mail contacts. My working time is to valuable to waste it on a hopeless issue.

Also from my biased point of view, the IAU agency is too big and inflexible to provide the necessary support for chairpersons of small Working Groups. I was never properly informed about deadlines; when asking for registration fee waivers for the invited speakers the only response I got was that this is now much too late.

Reinhard Schlickeiser chair of the Working Group