PREFACE

The organizers of the IAU Colloquium No. 175, "The Be Phenomenon in Early-Type Stars," originally proposed to dedicate the meeting to the works of Dr. Arne Slettebak, formerly of Ohio State University. With characteristic humility, Arne immediately requested that this dedication be extended to his long-time colleague, Mercedes Jaschek, and in April, 1999 to Carlos Jaschek, who suddenly died amidst conference plans for Carlos to link the conference to our Spanish hosts by a public talk on science and philosophy. Sadly, our friend Arne himself succombed a month later to cancer. We hope the shock and sorrow to the Slettebak and Jaschek families by these closely-spaced passings was tempered by the conference dedications. The conference participants were delighted to discover that one of the two Slettebak children had married the Jaschek's daughter – a very full international collaboration!

Scientifically, the Jaschek's left a rich legacy of interest in Be and other "anomalous" hot stars both through inspiring interest among astronomers in South America and Europe and through spectral classification. In the latter work, they identified subgroups and found spectral diagnostics in the UV, IR, and optical ranges. During the 1960's and 1970's Arne Slettebak assumed the role of leadership left behind with the passing of Struve, McLaughlin, and Merrill in linking the study of stellar rotation with the phenomenology of Be stars. He set a high benchmark both in reliability for the measurements of Vsini's and line profiles as well as caution, in their interpretation. In 1987 Arne organized the last meeting (IAUC No. 92 in Boulder), the meeting which gave us working definitions of "Be star" and the "Be phenomenon." Among his last legacies was a review paper which emphasized that rapid rotation alone could not explain the Be phenomenon, a realization which set the stage to the search for another mechanism(s) in the 1990s.

The dedicates lived to begin to participate in the the explosion in information about hot stars and their environments provided by the exploitation of solid-state detectors and satellites in the 1980s. Important conferences were held over the next 10 years, culminating in the IAU Symposium No. 162 on rotation, pulsation, and mass loss in B stars. While this conference put a treatment of the Be phenomenon within the context of both stable and variable attributes of B stars, it could not include them all. For example, the important subfields of interacting and particularly X-ray binaries could not be covered adequately. By the late 1990s, the termination of the IUE (and ISO) satellites and evolution of new observational techniques such as optical interferometery, multi-line spectroscopy, spectropolarimetry, IR and X-ray spectroscopy, required a taking of new stock of Be stars and their almost unique "decretion disks." Likewise, the development of codes for studies of the hydrodynamics of disks, evolution of binary systems, and stellar nonradial pulsations under a large range of parameter space permitted accumulating data to be interpreted in new ways.

Some 130 astronomers attended the Colloquium, bringing a wide diversity of viewpoints, interests, and technical knowledge. The final tally of these proceedings includes 110 "poster" papers and 27 invited papers, all told coauthored by 238 astronomers. This meeting would have not have been possible but for the support of four IAU Divisions, including Commissions 25, 27, 29, 42, and 44 and the generous support of our Spanish hosts, including the Universidad de Ali-

Preface xv

cante and the Caja de Ahorros del Meditteraneo as well as Dirección General de Enseñanza Superior del Ministerio de Educación y Cultura and the Conselleria de Cultura, Educació y Cigravencia de la Generalitat Valenciana. The generous support of these institutions defrayed the cost of participating in this meeting considerably. We would like to thank the members of the Scientific Organizing Committee (A. Fullerton, L. Balona, J. Bjorkman, J. Fabregat, W. Hummel, E. Kambe, M. Marlborough, R. Mennickent, P. Roche, S. Stefl, and Z. Wang) for the nearly two years of planning they put into this meeting through their e-discussions and thoughtful comments. We likewise thank the Local Organizing Committee (José Berná, Guillermo Bernabeu, Esther Enjuto, Juan Fabregat, Amparo Marco, Juan Pérez-Ortiz, José Rodes, J. Miguel Torrejón) for a flawless implementation of these plans, fund-raising, and scouting out of splendid venues for the conference and social activities.

Myron Smith

Huib Henrichs

Juan Fabregat