152

between the traditional hospital-centred modes of care and that of the community-based prototype. We then divided into groups to discuss the various pros and cons of our new life-style, following which the nominated group chairperson presented the distilled wisdom of their team. Inevitably, more attention was given to potential disadvantages rather than benefits. It was thought that possible problem areas included inadequate supervision from consultants, the relegation of our role within the multidisciplinary community team to that of "pill-pusher", the demoralising effects of diluted peer group interaction, along with a host of organisational difficulties. Will the community-based consultancy of the future be a less attractive proposition, with the potential for harming recruitment into the psychiatric ranks? A show of hands indicated that some 60–70% of trainees shared this anxiety, and it is noteworthy that of the remainder the majority abstained on the basis of insufficient evidence. Concluding, the Chairman noted a "worrying negativity" – fair comment indeed.

Due largely to the quality of the speakers and the efforts of the chairpersons, the day proved a stimulating experience and, by common consent, a great success. We would like to thank all those who conspired to make it so and E. Merck Limited, who provided an excellent lunch.

Annual Elections

Honorary Officers, Council and Court of Electors

Fellows and Members of the College are reminded of their rights in connection with the forthcoming elections for the offices of Dean, Registrar, Treasurer, Editor and Librarian. All Honorary Officers are eligible for re-election.

The nominating meeting of Council will be held on 15 March 1989, and the last date for receiving nominations will therefore be 12 April 1989. Nominations may also be submitted for vacancies on the Court of Electors and for Elected Members of Council. The relevant Bye-Laws and Regulations are printed below.

Extracts from Bye-Laws and Regulations

Bye-Law XII THE OTHER HONORARY OFFICERS

1. The Council shall, in accordance with the Regulations, make its nominations for the offices of Dean, Registrar, Treasurer, Editor, Librarian at the first meeting after the name of the President for the next ensuing College year has become known. Written nominations for the above Honorary Offices, accompanied in each case by the nominee's written consent to stand for election, may also be lodged with the Registrar at such time as may be prescribed by the Regulations, provided that each such nomination is supported in writing by not less than twelve Members of the College who are not members of the Council.

2. The Dean, Registrar, Treasurer, Editor and Librarian shall be elected from amongst the Fellows by the Members of the College, in each case in accordance with the procedure prescribed by the Regulations. Regulation XII ELECTION OF THE OTHER HONORARY OFFICERS

1. The method of electing the Honorary Officers other than the President and the Vice-Presidents and Sub-Deans shall be the same as that for electing the President,* save that nominations from Members of the College who are not members of the Council shall be lodged with the Registrar between the first day of January in any calendar year and the date which is four clear weeks after that meeting of the Council which is first held after the name of the President for the next ensuing College year has become known, or (as the case may be) which is four clear weeks after that meeting of the Council which, in the case of a tie on the second ballot, determines the election of the President.

Bye-Law XXI THE COURT OF ELECTORS

4. At the first meeting of the Council in alternate years after the name of the President for the next ensuing College year has become known, the Council shall nominate a sufficient number of candidates for appointment as Electors to ensure an election, which will be held by a postal ballot of all Members of the College in the manner prescribed by the Regulations. Additional nominations may be lodged with the Registrar between the beginning of the then current calendar year and the end of four clear weeks after the meeting of the Council above referred to. No

*i.e. Written nominations, accompanied in each case by the nominee's written consent to stand for election, may be lodged with the Registrar, provided that each such nomination is supported in writing by not less than twelve Members of the College who are not members of the Council. An election by ballot shall be held in accordance with the provisions of the Regulations.

The College

The College

such nomination shall be valid unless it be supported in writing by twelve Members of the College and accompanied by the nominee's written consent to serve if elected.

Regulation XIX THE COUNCIL

3. Not less than four of the twelve elected Members of Council shall be elected or re-elected each alternate year subject to the overall condition that no elected member shall serve on Council for more than six years in that capacity without a break of at least one year. At its first meeting in each alternate College year after the name of the President for the next ensuing College year has become known, the Council shall nominate for election to the Council four or more Members of the College. Any nominee who is proposed and seconded and gives his consent in writing to serve shall be validly nominated. Any twelve Members of the College may make nominations in writing at any time between the first day of January in each alternate year and the date which is four clear weeks after the meeting of the Council at which its nominations are made. Nominations other than those made by the Council shall be lodged with the Registrar and accompanied by the written consent of the candidate to serve if elected. Should there be more nominations than vacancies, an election shall be held by ballot of the Members of the College. The ballot paper shall not indicate the method of nomination or the names of those nominating. If the number of nominees does not exceed the number of vacancies, these nominees shall be declared elected at the first meeting, whether of the Council or of the Executive and Finance Committee, after the expiry of the period of four clear weeks in this paragraph referred to.

Elections to the Fellowship, 1989

The Members listed below have been elected as Fellows of the College by the Court of Electors:

Dr M. K. F. Al-Farekh, Dr M. Asaduzzaman (Dr M. A. Zaman on Membership list), Dr K. Attaullah, Dr G. M. Baird, Dr H. Bevan-Jones, Dr J. S. Bolton, Professor N. Bohacek, Dr C. K. Bridgett, Dr G. B. Cassano, Dr D. Chiswick, Dr R. V. Cope, Dr J. Cordingly, Dr M. Dineen, Dr W. M. Donovan, Dr M. H. S. El-Badramany, Dr O. E. F. A. El-Rufaie, Dr G. Forrest, Dr J. W. Garry, Dr I. M. Ghany, Dr S. M. Grant, Dr K. C. Gupta, Dr J. Handley, Dr S. W. Hettiaratchy, Dr F. H. Hocking, Dr S. C. Hollins, Dr L. I. M. Homewood, Dr E. Hughes-Roberts, Dr A. V. Jablensky, Dr H. D. James, Dr S. R. N. James, Dr G. K. R. Jamieson, Dr B John, Dr T. Kay, Dr L. P. Kok, Dr J. W. S. Kraemer, Dr L. McCurdy, Dr M. N. McGuinness, Dr P. C. McLean, Dr D. C. Mawson, Dr L. M. Measey, Dr J. B. Murphy, Dr R. Nada Raja, Dr H. Nichol, Dr K. P. O'Brien, Dr C. V. Oppenheimer, Dr G. C. Owens, Dr J. Owens, Dr H. Petursson, Dr J. C. Powell, Dr G. J. Pryce, Dr V. A. Rama Rao, Dr M. A. Reveley, Dr J. R. Robertson, Dr N. P. Sebaratnam, Dr W. A. Saunders, Dr E. C. Sheldrick, Dr T. H. Singh, Dr A. H. W. Smith, Professor G. Solomon, Dr F. E. Subotsky, Dr R. L. Symonds, Dr G. I. Szmukler, Dr K. Tareen, Dr P. J. Taylor, Dr G. Theano, Dr J. E. Thomas, Dr P. J. Tubridy, Dr M. Vallance, Dr J. M. Werner, Dr G. C. P. Wijesinghe, Dr L. M. Winkley, Dr J. Wood.